The Tata Literature Live! Festival has announced the shortlists for five of the eight literary awards it will give out this year.

With three books in each category, shortlists were announced for the First Book Award for non-fiction and fiction, the Book of the Year Award for fiction and non-fiction and the Business Book of the Year Award. Among the authors who were on the longlists released last week but did not find a spot on the shortlists are Jeet Thayil, Upamanyu Chatterjee and Sujatha Gidla, who won the Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize in October.

The other three categories in which awards are given – and are yet to be declared – are Poet Laureate, Lifetime Achievement, and Big Little Book.

The winners will be named during an awards ceremony to be held on November 20 in Mumbai as the conclusion to this year’s literature festival.

The complete shortlists are:

First Book Award (Fiction)

First Book Award (Non-fiction)

Book of the Year Award (Fiction)

Book of the Year Award (Non-fiction)

Business Book of the Year Award

  • Driver in a Driverless Car: How our technology choices will create the future, Alex Salkever (HarperCollins)
  • Reverse Innovation in Healthcare: How to make value-based delivery work, Vijay Govindarajan and Ravi Ramamurti (Harvard Business Review Press)
  • The Billionaire Raj: A journey through India’s new gilded age, James Crabtree (HarperCollins)