The Tata Literature Live! Festival in Mumbai has announced the longlists for five of the ten literary awards it will give this year.

The contenders for the best First Book Award for Fiction are:

- Umi Sinha for Belonging (Speaking Tiger Books)
- Tanuj Solanki for Neon Noon (Harper Collins)
- Manu Bhattathiri for Savithri's Special Room (Harper Collins)
- Kanishk Tharoor for Swimmer Among the Stars (Aleph Book Company)
- Sharanya Manivannan for The High Priestess Never Marries (Harper Collins)
- Kersi Khambatta for The Village of Pointless Conversation (Harper Collins)

The contenders for the best non-fiction debut are:

- Audrey Truschke for Culture of Encounters: Sanskrit at the Mughal Court (Penguin Random House)
- Mohammad Aamir Khan with Nandita Haksar for Framed as a Terrorist: My 14-year Struggle to Prove My Innocence (Speaking Tiger Books)
- Vinay Sitapati for Half-Lion: How Narasimha Rao Transformed India (Penguin Random House)
- Anubha Bhonsle for Mother, Where's My Country? Looking for Light in the Darkness of Manipur (Speaking Tiger Books)
- Manu S Pillai for The Ivory Throne: Chronicles of the House of Travancore (Harper Collins)
- Barkha Dutt for This Unquiet Land: Stories from India’s Fault Lines (The Aleph Book Company).

The fiction nominees for the Book of the Year are:

- Sarnath Banerjee for All Quiet in Vikaspuri (Harper Collins)
- Tabish Khair for Jihadi Jane (Penguin Random House)
- Kiran Doshi for Jinnah Often Came to Our House (Westland),
- Aravind Adiga for Selection Day (Harper Collins)
- Karan Mahajan for The Association of Small Bombs (Harper Collins)
- Ratika Kapur for The Private Life of Mrs Sharma (Bloomsbury)

The nonfiction longlist for Book of the Year comprises:

- Vappala Balachandran for A Life in Shadow: The Secret Story of ACN Nambiar,The Mysterious Anti-Colonial Hero (Roli Books)
- Josy Joseph for A Feast of Vultures: The Hidden Business of Democracy in India (Harper Collins)
- Srinath Raghavan for India’s War: The Making of Modern South Asia 1939-1945 (Penguin Random House)
- Siddharth Dube for No One Else: A Personal History of Outlawed Love and Sex (Harper Collins)
- Siddhartha Mukherjee for The Gene: An Intimate History (Penguin Random House)
- Amitav Ghosh for The Great Derangement: Climate Change and the Unthinkable (Penguin Random House).

The longlist for the Business Book of the Year Award comprises:

- Parag Khanna for Connectography: Mapping the Future of Global Civilization (Hachette)
- Anil K Gupta for Grassroots Innovation: Minds on the Margin Are Not Marginal Minds (Penguin Random House)
- S Muthiah & Ranjitha Ashok for Office Chai, Planter's Brew (Westland)
- Aparna Jain for Own It: Leadership Lessons from Women Who Do (Harper Collins)
- R Gopalakrishnan for Six Lenses: Vignettes of Success, Career and Relationships (Rupa Publications)
- Kashyap Deorah for The Golden Tap: The Inside Story of Hyper-Funded Indian Startups (Roli Books)
- Saurabh Mukherjea for The Unusual Billionaires (Penguin Random House)

The winners will be announced during the awards ceremony to be held on November 20 at the NCPA in Mumbai.